Review – Trelawny of the Wells, Donmar

Monday 8 April 2013

Trelawny_Of_The_Wells-1-200-200-100-cropBit late in the day with this one and frankly we weren’t going to bother writing it up as it closes on Saturday. But we’ll forget that we saw it otherwise. That’s not to say it’s forgettable. It’s just us.

Andrew was a Trelawny of the Wells virgin. Phil saw the starry Helena Bonham Carter version at the then Comedy Theatre 20-odd years ago; rather unfortunately the National also staged it around the same time. Oops. Phil remembered that it featured Michael Hordern, Jason Connery and Margaret Courtenay but had completely forgotten that cosmonaut-in-waiting Sarah Brightman also starred. How could he forget that? It seemed necessary to record our visit, if only for ourselves. You should feel no obligation to read any further.

The biggest surprise for us was, not that we enjoyed it, but that quite a few of the critics were a bit snippily ‘meh’ about film director Joe Wright‘s first stage production, a version of Arthur Wing Pinero‘s (“with some most respectful additions and ornamentation by Patric Marber“) love letter to the theatre satire on the behaviour of actors.

Rose Trelawny (Amy Morgan) is ‘retiring’ from a successful stage career at the Barridge Wells to marry Arthur Gower (Joshua Silver) who comes from a highly respectable aristocratic background. Will an unrestrained actress fit in to this deeply conservative family or find them unbearably stuffy and dull? No prizes for guessing which provides the more comedic option. Chaotic hilarity ensues.

Some have grumbled that the acting’s occasionally writ too large, but since they’re mainly playing hammy actors we had no beef with that. Daniel Mays goes so over the top with his flamboyant Ferdinand Gadd he must lose his stomach coming down the other side; but we do not complain.

There’s great comic opportunities (and money-saving) from some doubling up of the roles: Ron Cook is terrific as both a Charley’s Aunt-styled Mrs Mossop and Arthur’s restrained grandfather Sir William with Maggie Steed** as both his sister, Miss Trafalgar Gower and one Mrs Telfer delivers the biggest laugh of the night. In response to her husband’s distress at being given a role which is clearly and insultingly based upon himself she delivers a beautifully judged,”Do you think you could get near it?” which alone is worth stumping up for a ticket*. That and Cook’s delivery of “obleeged”. We cackled.

It’s splendidly cast throughout from Aimeé-Ffion Edwards‘ Avonia Bunn to a riot of roles from Jamie Beamish – especially his booming last act Irish stage manager. Susanna Fielding is hilarious as the extremely actressy Imogen Parrott and newcomer Silver makes a huge impression in what could have been an insipid role as Rose’s love interest. The Whingers don’t want to blight what looks like a promising career by saying we’ll be watching him closely, but we will. Heck, not only did we like everyone on stage but we’d love to think the actors behave like this off stage too.

Hildegard Bechtler’s sets scroll up and down wittily and it’s fun trying to spot Marber’s “ornamentation”.

Safe to say we liked it then.

Footnotes

*We used the Donmar’s Front Row scheme to get our £10 seats. Artistic director Josie O’Rourke’s vision is to encourage younger people into the theatre with these cheap tickets. We doubt we were quite what she was after.

** We really haven’t been following Maggie Steed closely enough and can’t think why. Enjoy her glorious turn here as producer Marion Clune in The Making of Acorn Antiques:

Rating

rating-score-4-5-full-bodied-1-17[1]

25 Responses to “Review – Trelawny of the Wells, Donmar”

  1. webcowgirl Says:

    Wow … I’m glad you enjoyed it. I found it boring. Maybe I didn’t have enough to drink beforehand?

  2. Elena Says:

    Good and fair testimony and so late in the run – well worth recording for those of us who raise our glass to all concerned. By the way have recently noted a fair old number of boozers seated next to me at the theatre – perhaps a spot of good old bear-bating in place of the actors might impress them – might even save a few livers


  3. It’s an remarkable paragraph in support of all the
    web viewers; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.


  4. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.


  5. I love it when people get together and share views. Great
    site, keep it up!


  6. I always spent my half an hour to read this web site’s
    posts every day along with a mug of coffee.


  7. I’m not sure why but this site is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.


  8. Hello there! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I am going to forward this
    post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!


  9. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous
    blogger if you aren’t already😉 Cheers!


  10. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or
    did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours
    with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Appreciate it


  11. Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful article.
    Many thanks for supplying these details.


  12. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward
    to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!


  13. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could
    a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?


  14. Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and post
    is in fact fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of articles or
    reviews.


  15. Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the information!


  16. I every time used to study paragraph in news papers but
    now as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using net for articles, thanks
    to web.


  17. For most recent information you have to go to see web
    and on internet I found this site as a most excellent web site for newest updates.


  18. Good day very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful
    .. I will bookmark your website and take the
    feeds additionally? I’m glad to seek out numerous helpful information right here within the put up, we’d like work out more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . .


  19. I’m not certain where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend a while studying more or understanding more.

    Thank you for excellent information I used to be looking
    for this information for my mission.

  20. Review Says:

    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.


  21. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly.

    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  22. GCXT Reviews Says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thank you!


  23. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the
    net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to
    you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries
    that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing
    without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks


Leave a Reply

